The tunnels enable thousands of Tynesiders to cross the river
Heralded as Tyneside’s contribution to the Festival of Britain in 1951 at a total cost of £833,000


We are now open

After being closed for six years for refurbishment, the historic Grade II-listed Tunnels are now open.

Visitors can once again cycle or walk from one side of the River Tyne to the other and experience the unique structure which has been a key link for the people of Tyneside since 1951.

The Tunnels will be OPEN SEVEN DAYS A WEEK FROM 6AM TO 8PM until further notice.

For the time being, access will be via THE VERTICAL LIFTS ONLY.  The vertical lifts have limited capacity, so users are requested to be patient at busy times and allow more time for their journeys.

The Night Service for shift workers will continue to operate as normal.

The Tunnels form part of the National Cycle Network (Routes 72 and 14).